RSS

Friday(Z) in the Rain

26 Jun

A well needed rainy Friday morning in Palm Harbor.  Thunder rolling in the background, landscape workers responsible for the medium-pitched whine of chainsaws as they work down the street trimming all the palms.   It’s easy to differentiate the “boom” of the large palm branches hitting the wet pavement from the low bass of distant thunder.  The whine of the relentless chain saw, a different matter though.  I think of large metallic mosquitoes buzzing outside my back lanai.  Where are my giant citronella torches when I need them!

Recovery Time- 6 Weeks

The leg bone is connected to the hip bone…

I still see the green flash.  The haunting memory comes back on a daily basis and jars my reality, sending an adrenaline rush through my body.  I do not like this memory, I have too many other really great ones to waste time with this one.

A green Mazda 626 turning left into my cycling path, striking the rear triangle of my Litespeed road bike.  Twenty airborne feet later, with all the grace of a wounded duck, I came to a crashing halt on Highgate Boulevard.  The entirety of my left side, from the pinky of my left hand to my little toe of my left foot, and all parts in between were screaming in pain!  The screaming was extremely loud.

It truly was a miracle landing, nothing was broken, ripped, torn, cracked or severed; and I was still alive after being hit by a car!  “Praise God from whom all blessings flow!” For me, this was a high-impact reminder we serve a glorious God of “second chances”.  1 John 1:9 says, if we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness”.  A God of second chances through his son Jesus Christ.  Do you know him?  He changes lives in an amazing way and once you are his child, you will never be the same again!  Now, that’s a “high-impact” ride!

Visit www.CalvaryBaptist.org for some information on taking the first step to a life changing ride!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2009 in Christian, Cycling, Faith

 

Leave a Reply

 
